Posted by: Josh | October 6, 2009

After 30 days of P90X

Ok, so it’s been 30 days since Liz and I started doing P90X. Here’s my photos from day 1 and day 30. I’ll post them grouped together, so they’ll be a little easier to compare. I ended up having to change where I was taking the pictures. We recently did some furniture rearranging, and now this is the only blank wall I could find! Anyway, here’s the pics…

Day 1Day 30

Day 1Day 30

Day 1Day 30

Day 1Day 30

Day 1Day 30

Alright, so there ya go. Please, please, please, leave a comment to let me know what you think. If you have something positive to say, it will be great for encouragement. If you have something negative to say, although I can’t promise that your comment will be approved ;), it will only add fuel to the flame and make me work harder for phase 2. Thanks!

Responses

  1. You’re getting a nice V shape in your back now. Thanks for posting your pictures!

  2. I think it’s hot! 🙂

  3. Wow! I can really see some results! I’m super impressed! Can’t wait to see Liz’s pictures, too! I’ve made reservations for Buck for next weekend…can’t wait to see you all!

  4. Congrats!!!

  5. Hi,
    Very nice results after just 30 days;
    I just bought the DVDs but still haven’t hit Play…
    Hopefully you can find the time to answer my following doubts/questions
    1. did you use any whey protein and if so, what brand?
    2. did you follow the meal plan all the way?
    3. how many pull ups could you do on D1 and how many on D30 ?
    4. what is the average dumbell weight you use?
    5. and how many repetitions do you do?

    Many thanks and good luck with the next 60 days.

    Yves

    • I used the whey protein you can buy at Wal-Mart. Body Fortress, I think, but then I switched to EAS. You can get a huge bag of it at Sam’s Club for about $30, and it tastes better to me. I usually mixed it with 2% milk, and I usually had a shake a little before bed time. The whey protein is fast acting, so it burns up pretty quick, but the casein protein in milk is slow acting, so it helps your body repair while you sleep.

      As far as the meal plan, I followed the portion approach, but I followed it pretty loosely. Tony probably would have gotten upset a time or two… or ten. The main thing was, I made sure to drink PLENTY of water, cut out most of the empty calories (soft drinks, sweets, etc), and I made sure to get at least about as many grams of protein as my body weight.

      I could do about 2-3 pull ups on day 1, and now, I’m somewhere around 8-10. I have been using 15lb dumbells for everything up until now. I just went up to 20. And lastly, I always try to go for maximum reps. Now, it depends on what exercise I was doing as to how many reps I could do. I didn’t really have enough weight to fail at 8-10 reps for some exercises, so I just made sure to do as many as I could so that the last 3 reps were tough. Some exercise, I could only do 8 or so. Just make sure to do maximum reps.

      Oh, and one more thing, you’ll hear him talk about the “Recovery Drink” quite a bit, but you can substitute it for a good creatine powder. I got mine at Wal-Mart, Fruit Punch flavor, and I like it pretty well. I heard that mixing it with grape juice helps make it more effective, so I’ll be trying that from here on out.

      Good luck, and I wish you the best of luck! Get ready to bring it, and keep pushing play!

  6. Hi Josh,

    Thank you for the very detailed answers.
    You’ve taken away many of my doubts.
    Will keep track of your progress.
    Bye.

  7. I’m looking forward to your 60-day pictures! Did I mention lately, just how proud I am of you? How proud I am of you and Liz? Or how proud I am of Eva Grace? Whatever color “Proud Mom/Nana” is, I’m surely glowing with it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

